top of page


Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. was founded at Howard University in Washington, DC January 9th,
1914 by three young black male students. The founders, Honorable A. Langston Taylor, Honorable
Leonard F. Morse and Honorable Charles I. Brown wanted to organize a Greek-letter fraternity that
would truly exemplify the high ideals of brotherhood, scholarship and service.

The founders deeply wished to create an organization that viewed itself as "a part of" the general
community. They believed that each potential member should be judged on his own merits rather
than his family background or affluence, without regard of race, nationality, color, skin tone or
texture of hair. They wished and wanted their fraternity to exist as a part of an even greater
brotherhood-sisterhood which would be devoted to the "inclusive we" rather than the "exclusive we "

From its inception, the founders also conceived Phi Beta Sigma as a mechanism to deliver services to the general community. Rather than gaining skills to be utilized exclusively for themselves and their immediate families, the founders of Phi Beta Sigma held the deep conviction that they should return their newly acquired skills to the communities from which they had come. This deep conviction was mirrored in the fraternity motto, "Culture For Service and Service For Humanity. "

Today, more than three-quarters of a century later, Phi Beta Sigma has blossomed into an
international organization of leaders. No longer a single entity, the fraternity has now established the
Phi Beta Sigma Educational Foundation, Inc. and the Phi Beta Sigma Federal Credit Union (to build
financial equity within our target communities).

With the force, vigor, power and energy of its more than 100,000 dedicated men united in more than
700 chapters across the United States, Africa, Europe, Asia and the Caribbean, Phi Beta Sigma
continues to faithfully perpetuate composite growth and progress as the "people's fraternity"
dedicated to providing services to all humanity


In 1986 Brothers Edmond Moss and Ralph Holloway started discussing their future in the
fraternity and how they could support the local undergraduate chapter at The University of
Texas at Arlington. These men also recognized a need to serve as mentors to the youth in the
surrounding Arlington community.

Brothers Moss and Holloway flew to Houston, Texas to speak with the Gulf Coast Regional
Director for his guidance, permission, and support to charter a graduate chapter for the city of
Arlington. After completing the necessary paperwork and obtaining regional and national
approvals, they waited. Finally, on December 1, 1986, the Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc., Iota
Mu Sigma Chapter of Arlington, Texas was official. Five brothers served as charter members:
Brothers Moss, Holloway, Thomas Lewis, Vincent Wilson (now deceased) and Joe Colbert.
Bro. Holloway was elected as the chapter’s first president.

After a brief period of inactivity, Brothers Theo Ammons, Timothy Ammons, Andre Smith, Chris
Williams, and the late Jim Williams reactivated the chapter in 2001.
The Iota Mu Sigma Chapter has a rich history of demonstrating Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity's
legacy of Brotherhood, Scholarship, and Service in Arlington, Grand Prairie and Mansfield, Texas
areas. The Chapter continues to work with the Theta Chi Chapter at The University of Texas at
Arlington and the Gamma Kappa Gamma Chapter at Tarleton State University to speed our
cause on its way.

Presidents of Iota Mu Sigma

1. Ralph Holloway
2. Edmond Moss
3. Jim Williams (Omega Chapter)
4. Andre Smith
5. Kendall Harris
6. Jim Williams (Omega Chapter)
7. Theo Peugh
8. Theo Ammons
9. Melvin Barnes (Omega Chapter)
10. Omar Roberson
11. Jerry Farmer

Iota Mu Sigma Chapter members are committed to changing lives through service. Notable
members of the Iota Mu Sigma Chapter include the past chairman of the School of Engineering
at Prairie A&M University, now current Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs of Texas
Southern University, Bro. Kendall Harris; former Gulf Coast Regional Director Bro. Theo
Ammons; former Texas State Director Bro. Edmond Cordova; and current Chapter President &
1st Vice Regional Director Bro. Jerry Farmer. This is just a start in the history of one of Phi Beta
Sigma’s elite chapters. We will continue in our quest for exceptional Brotherhood, Scholarship
and Service.

bottom of page